Opening space

I had mentioned to Brian that I would like to clean up the small grove of cedar trees that will be right by our front door…and the primary view from my kitchen and guest bedroom/craftsroom.Today we did a lot of trimming of dead branches. We bought this great tool last year that made this effort doable. FullSizeRender FullSizeRender (1)

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

FullSizeRender (2)The work crew did not show up until about 1:30 to remove the forms from around the footing.  FullSizeRender (4) FullSizeRender (3)

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

About 2:30, I went into the trailer to make lunch and as we sat down to eat, I got a call reminding me that I had a teleconference with the agenda team for our next GPCA state meeting.  I was on the call for almost two hours. When I came out, I found that Brian had continued to clean up the grove. There had been lots of residue and just plain trash left in that grove after our house burned down….more was added when the old foundation was pulled down last year.  It is really looking way better and I am looking forward to going to the Nordland Garden Club plant sale tomorrow to get some rhododendrons and other perennials for that cedar shade garden.

pondatduskAs the sun was going down we wandered down to the pond and enjoyed the vegetation as well as the water, and thought about what we want to clear out.  It is going to be an interesting challenge to make the gardens neater and yet keep a balance of letting them also appear natural.

Leave a Reply

