Saturday….a day of rest, or was it

FullSizeRenderWe got up early to head over to Marrowstone Istand for the Garden Club plant sale.  We bought about a dozen plants. , FullSizeRender (1)
On the way back off the Island, we stopped at a county park and did a small hike through the forest and down to the shore.  It was low tide with lots of empty clam shells on the beach, but clamming season was closed.

We also made a stop at a local cabinet shop to get a bid on kitchen cabinets and counters.

After lunch, I did some research about the growing conditions of some of the plants.  I didn’t know that some varieties of rhodedendrons can grow to more than 10 feet high and some are fragrant.   I am reevaluating where I will plant them….and maybe will wait until after the house is built.  On the land now, we only have what I have been told is the local Washington native rhodie.

FullSizeRender (2)When I got through with my plant research, I went out to find that Brian had been using the weed whacker to clear away the point of land that overhangs the pond.  It was one of my requests for the week.  FullSizeRender (3)I joined him in the effort particularly daylighting some large rocks at the edge of the pond and a larger one to the side where we use to think about doing a sweat lodge.  When clearing besides that one, we discovered a gentle slope down to the forest and did a small walk through in an area we may not have been before.  FullSizeRender (4)We ended up with a very large pile of brush and need to figure out what we are going to do with all of it.  I wish we already had a biochar kiln…..though I am a little confused because I just came across an article saying beware of biochar, and it may even be bad for the environment.  Hmmmm….more research.

After cleaning up in the cedar grove which is at the front of the house yesterday, there is already a very large pile of small size branches which our caretaker can use in his rocket stove.

Leave a Reply

